News

Présentation of the NATIONAL FIRE BRIGADE

BACKGROUND

The first fire services in Cameroon, made up of volunteers and/or subjects, date back to the colonial era.

Following a series of fire outbreaks on coffee plantations and in coffee roasting factories in the town of Nkongsamba, the French colonial administration set up a fire station there. This was also done in Yaoundé, the political capital, Douala, the economic capital, and Garoua, the cotton-growing town. The resources used to fight fires included buckets of water, hand pumps and various tools.

In 1960, when Cameroon gained independence, the colonial fire and emergency services were placed under the authority of the mayors of the four towns, who were responsible for safety in their local areas.

Faced with the difficulties experienced by councils in carrying out their missions in the areas of preparation and command of operations, a new organisation, placed under the supervision of the Minister of Defence, replaced the municipal framework in 1986. Decree No. 86/286 of 05 April 1986 to create the National Fire Brigade then laid the foundation of this Corps and set out its missions, thus marking the beginning of the organisation of Fire Services in Cameroon. This new Corps inherited the infrastructure and intervention resources of the municipal fire services and incorporated its personnel. Four years later, Decree No. 90/054 of 30 November 1990 amended the 1986 decree, making the National Fire Brigade a joint military entity.

As part of the reform of the Defence Forces, Decree No. 2001/184 of 25 July 2001 confirmed the joint nature of the National Fire Brigade with the specific mission of Civil Protection. It was then organised around a headquarters, a training structure and territorial units placed under the direct authority of the Minister of Defence and essentially put at the disposal of the Minister of Territorial Administration (Ministry of Interior). New Administrations were involved in the development of the National Fire Brigade.

In 2004, three Firefighters Groups were created, following the boundaries of the areas of responsibility of the three Joint Military Regions, with three Fire Companies and eight Emergency Centres for a total of four hundred personnel.

In 2011, the Corps began to expand. New Units have been created and activated, increasing the number from eight to twenty. At the same time, the Human Resources budget has increased fivefold. Lastly, the fleet of response vehicles has been strengthened, with around 200 vectors in all categories.

Two other Firefighters Groups and twelve fire companies were created in 2018 to increase territorial coverage and bring people closer together.

Organisation

The National Fire Brigade comprises a Headquarters, Formations and Units.

The Headquarters is organised around three divisions, namely the Operational Division, which coordinates all operational activities, the Administrative and Logistics Division, which provides support for the Units, and the Health Division, which provides medical care for personnel and their families and acts on behalf of the people. The Commander of the National Fire Brigade is assisted by a Second-in-Command and a Chief of Staff. The latter coordinates the Corps’ Divisions and Health Service.

 

  • The Administrative and Logistics Division:

Is responsible for personnel administration, the budget and logistic support for the Units. It comprises the Personnel and Chancellery Service, the Finance Service, the Technical Service and the Equipment and Supplies Service.

  • The Employment Division:

Is responsible for coordinating the operational activities of the National Fire Brigade and for general studies. It comprises the Operations Service, the Training and Development Service and the General Studies and Fire Prevention Service.

  • The Health Service:

Is responsible for forecasting and monitoring personnel health problems, equipment and the running of infirmaries. It comprises the Mail, Documentation and Archives Office, the Administrative and Financial Office and the Technical Office.

 

For interventions, the National Fire Brigade currently relies on:

  1. Five Firefighters Groups covering the boundaries of the Joint Military Regions. These Groups are responsible for the administration and deployment of Fire Units, which include Fire Companies and Emergency Centres.

The Group comprises:

  • The Operations and Communications Coordination Office;
  • The Administrative and Logistics Office;
  • The Training and Development Office;
  • The Fire Prevention Office;
  • The Command Company and Services ;
  • Fire Companies and Emergency Centres;
  • The Specialised Medical Centre.
  1. A National Training Centre which is responsible for the training, retraining and development of Corps personnel, studies and research related to these missions and any other training mission assigned by the High Command.

The National Training Centre comprises:

  • A Headquarters;
  • A Training Department;
  • A Command Company and Services ;
  • An Emergency Centre and Training Companies.
  1. The Specialised Medical Centres and the Infirmaries, which are responsible for emergency medicine, medical care and follow-up of personnel, troop medicine and the provision of pharmaceutical products and specific equipment.

LOCATION OF NATIONAL FIRE BRIGADE STRUCTURES

Units of the National Fire Brigade are currently located in thirteen (13) divisions (subject to change):

The 10th Firefighters Group which covers the Centre, South and East Regions with Command Post in Yaoundé (Centre).

The 20th Firefighters Group which covers the Littoral and South-West Regions with Command Post in Douala (Littoral).

The 30th Firefighters Group which covers the North and Adamawa Regions with Command Post in Garoua (North).

The 40th Firefighters Group which covers the Far North Region with Command Post in Maroua.

The 50th Firefighters Group which covers the West and North-West Regions with Command Post in Bamenda (North-West).

The National Training Centre with its Emergency Centre in Kribi in the Ocean Division, South Region.

LEGAL FRAMEWORK

The regulatory framework which justifies the existence of the National Fire Brigade is made up of:

  1. Law No. 86/016 of 06 December 1986 on the general reorganisation of Civil Protection, which stipulates that Civil Protection consists of permanently ensuring the protection of people, property and the environment against the risks of serious accidents, calamities or disasters, as well as against the effects of these disasters. To this end, it includes prevention, protection and emergency response measures. The organisation of the services responsible for carrying out Civil Protection activities is laid down by decree.
  2. Decree No. 86/286 of 05 April 1986 on the creation and organisation of the National Fire Brigade. This decree places the new Institution under the supervision of the Minister of Defence and assigns it the missions of fighting fires and the after-effects of any other calamity, rescuing people and property in danger and participating in studies and preventive actions relating to its field of competence. To carry out these missions, the Units of the National Fire Brigade are placed under permanent requisition by the administrative authorities. They are also at the disposal of other ministries and the general public within the purview of the missions entrusted to them. The National Fire Brigade was organised around study and planning bodies, the National Firefighters Training Centre and the Territorial Fire Brigade Units.
  3. Decree No. 2001/184 of 25 July 2001 on the reorganisation of the National Fire Brigade. This text organises the National Fire Brigade around a Headquarters, the National Training Centre and the Territorial Formations and Units. The Commander of the National Fire Brigade (COM CNSP), who can now only be an Officer appointed by presidential decree, is assisted by a Second-in-Command and a Chief of Staff. In addition, it is specified that the Minister of Defence is responsible for the recruitment, training, discipline and administration of the military personnel of the National Fire Brigade and that its financial resources are included in the budgets of the Ministry of Defence, the Ministry of Territorial Administration and the Ministry of Town Planning, as well as receiving contributions from the local and regional councils hosting the National Fire Brigade Formations.
  4. Decree No. 2004/058 of 23 March 2004 on the creation and organisation of the Territorial Formations and Units of the National Fire Brigade specifies that the Formations and Territorial Units of the National Fire Brigade comprise Firefighters Groups, Fire Companies and Emergency Centres, Specialised Medical Centres and the National Training Centre.
  5. Decree No. 2018/156 of 21 February 2018 amending Decree No. 2004/058 of 23 March 2004 on the creation and organisation of the Territorial Formations and Units of the National Fire Brigade creates five Firefighters Groups, including one per Joint Military Region, as well as new fire companies, increasing the number from three to twenty.

ORGANISATIONAL CHART

Missions

Under permanent requisition, the National Fire Brigade, acting on behalf of the administrative authorities and local and regional councils, has the following missions:

  • Combating disasters and their after-effects;
  • Rescuing people and property in danger;
  • Participating in disaster management;
  • Participating in prevention and sensitisation studies and actions within its area of ​​competence.

More specifically, the Units are responsible for:

  • Firefighting;
  • Combating disasters and their after-effects;
  • Helping people in danger;
  • Safeguarding property at risk;
  • Participating in disaster management;
  • Participating in prevention and sensitisation studies and actions within their areas of competence.

They also ensure compliance with regulations relating to:

  • Housing development;
  • Construction of residential buildings;
  • Construction of high buildings;
  • Construction of public facilities;

Construction of fire hydrant networks in fire stations and in the localities where they are found, and more generally, they participate in the study of safety challenges in various public facilities.

HEADLINES

Hanging, Pitoaré neighbourhood in Maroua.

On Wednesday 26 June 2024 at 2.30pm, the emergency services...

Four boys swept away by the waters of the Mayo Tsanaga in Maroua.

On Thursday 13 June 2024 at around 1pm, emergency services...

Road relief, Wouro-Tchédé market in Maroua.

On Monday, 27 May 2024, at 8.50am, the emergency services of...

Actualités

Présentation du CORPS NATIONAL DE SAPEURS-POMPIERS

Historique

Les premières organisations des pompiers au Cameroun, composées de volontaires et/ou d’assujettis remontent à la période coloniale.

A la suite d’une série de feux de plantations de café et d’usines de torréfaction de café dans la localité de Nkongsamba, l’administration coloniale française y crée une caserne de Sapeurs-Pompiers. Elle le fera également dans les villes de Yaoundé, la capitale politique, Douala la capitale économique et Garoua, la ville cotonnière. Les moyens d’intervention utilisés pour combattre les incendies comprenaient les seaux d’eau, des pompes manuelles et divers outillages.

En 1960, lors de l’accession du Cameroun à l’indépendance, les services coloniaux d’incendie et de secours passent sous l’autorité des maires des quatre villes, responsables de la sécurité sur leur territoire communal.

Face aux difficultés qu’éprouvaient les communes à mener à bien leurs missions dans les domaines de la préparation et du commandement des opérations, une organisation nouvelle, placée sous la tutelle du Ministre en charge de la Défense, se substitue au cadre communal en 1986. Le Décret n°86/286 du 05 avril 1986, portant création du Corps National de Sapeurs-Pompiers, jette les bases de ce Corps et fixe ses missions, marquant ainsi le début de l’organisation des services des Sapeurs-Pompiers au Cameroun. Ce nouveau Corps hérite des infrastructures et des moyens d’intervention des Sapeurs-Pompiers communaux et incorpore ses personnels. Quatre années plus tard, le décret N°90/054 du 30 novembre 1990, modifie celui de 1986 en faisant du CNSP une entité militaire interarmées.

Dans le cadre de la réforme des Forces de Défense, le décret N°2001/184 du 25 juillet 2001, confirme le caractère interarmées du Corps National de Sapeurs-Pompiers avec la mission spécifique de Protection Civile. Il est alors organisé autour d’un Etat-major, d’une structure de formation et des Unités territoriales placés sous l’autorité directe du Ministre en charge de la Défense et essentiellement mis pour emploi auprès du Ministre de l’Administration Territoriale (Ministère de l’intérieur). De nouvelles Administrations sont impliquées dans le développement du CNSP.

En 2004, sont créés trois Groupements de Sapeurs-Pompiers qui épousent les limites des zones de responsabilité des trois Régions Militaires Interarmées avec trois Compagnies d’incendie et huit Centres de secours pour un effectif de quatre cents personnels.

La montée en puissance du Corps s’amorce en 2011. De nouvelles Unités sont créées et activés faisant passer le nombre de huit à vingt. Parallèlement, l’enveloppe Ressources Humaines s’accroit du simple au quintuple. Enfin, le parc d’engins d’intervention est renforcé avec la dotation d’environ 200 vecteurs toutes catégories confondues.

Deux autres Groupements et douze compagnies d’incendie sont créés en 2018 pour densifier le maillage territorial et rapprochant ainsi les populations.

Organisation

Le CNSP comprend un Etat-major, des Formations et Unités.

L’Etat-major s’articule autour de trois pôles notamment, le « pôle Opérationnel » qui assure la coordination de toutes les activités opérationnelles, le « pôle Administratif et Logistique » qui garantit le soutien des Unités et le « pôle Santé » qui assure du suivi médical des personnels, de leur famille et qui agit au profit des populations. A ce titre, le Commandant du CNSP est assisté d’un Commandant en Second et d’un Chef d’Etat-major. Ce dernier assure la coordination des Divisions et du Service Santé du Corps.

  • La Division Administrative et Logistique :

Est chargée de l’administration des personnels, du budget et du soutien logistique des Unités. Elle comprend le Service du Personnel et de la Chancellerie, le Service Financier, le Service Technique et le Service des Equipements et des Matériels.

  • La Division Emploi :

Est chargée de la coordination des activités opérationnelles du Corps National de Sapeurs-Pompiers et des études générales. Elle comprend le Service des Opérations, le Service de la Formation et du Perfectionnement et le Service des Etudes Générales et de la Prévention.

  • Le Service Santé :

Est chargé des prévisions et du suivi des problèmes de santé des personnels, des équipements et du fonctionnement des infirmeries. Il comprend le Bureau du courrier, de la documentation et des archives, le Bureau Administratif et Financier et le Bureau Technique.

Pour les interventions, le CNSP s’appuie actuellement sur :

  1. Cinq Groupements de Sapeurs-Pompiers couvrant les limites des Régions Militaires Interarmées. Ces Groupements sont en charge de l’administration et du déploiement des Unités d’incendie que sont les Compagnies d’Incendie et les Centres de Secours.

Le Groupement comprend :

  • Le Bureau de Coordination des Opérations et des Transmissions ;
  • Le Bureau Administratif et Logistique ;
  • Le Bureau de la Formation et du Développement ;
  • Le Bureau de la Prévention ;
  • La Compagnie de Commandement et des Services ;
  • Des Compagnies d’incendie et Centres de secours ;
  • Le Centre Médical Spécialisé.
  1. Un Centre National d’Instruction qui est chargé de la formation, du recyclage et du perfectionnement du personnel du Corps, des études et recherches liées à ces missions et de toute autre mission de formation confiée par le Haut Commandement.

Le Centre National d’Instruction comprend :

  • Un état-major ;
  • Une Direction de l’instruction ;
  • Une Compagnie de Commandement et des Services ;
  • Un Centre de secours et des compagnies d’instruction.
  1. Les Centres Médicaux Spécialisés et les Infirmeries qui sont en charge de la médecine d’urgence, de la prise en charge et du suivi médical des personnels, de la médecine du corps de troupe et de la réalisation des approvisionnements en produits pharmaceutiques et en matériels spécifiques.

IMPLANTATION DU CNSP

Les Unités du CNSP sont implantées dans treize (13) départements à ce jour (susceptible d’évoluer):

Le 10° Groupement de Sapeurs-Pompiers qui couvre les Régions du Centre, Sud et Est avec Poste de Commandement à Yaoundé (Centre).

Le 20° Groupement de Sapeurs-Pompiers qui couvre les Régions du Littoral et du Sud-Ouest avec Poste de Commandement à Douala (Littoral).

Le 30° Groupement de Sapeurs-Pompiers qui couvre les Régions du Nord et de l’Adamaoua avec Poste de Commandement à Garoua (Nord).

Le 40° Groupement de Sapeurs-Pompiers qui couvre la Région de l’Extrême-nord avec Poste de Commandement à Maroua.

Le 50° Groupement de Sapeurs-Pompiers qui couvre les Régions de l’Ouest et du Nord-ouest avec Poste de Commandement à Bamenda (Nord-Ouest).

Le Centre National d’Instruction avec son Centre de Secours à Kribi dans le département de l’Océan, Région du Sud.

CADRE JURIDIQUE

Le cadre normatif qui justifie l’existence du CNSP est constitué de :

  1. La loi N°86/016 du 06 décembre 1986 portant réorganisation générale de la Protection Civile qui stipule que la Protection Civile consiste à assurer en permanence la protection des personnes, des biens et de l’environnement contre les risques d’accidents graves, des calamités ou de catastrophes, ainsi que contre les effets de ces Sinistres. Elle comporte à ce titre des mesures de prévention, de protection et d’organisation des secours. L’organisation des services chargés de la conduite des activités de la Protection Civile est fixée par décret.
  2. Le décret N°86/286 du 05 avril 1986 portant création et organisation du Corps National de Sapeurs-Pompiers. Ce décret place la nouvelle Institution sous la tutelle du Ministre en charge de la Défense et lui affecte les missions de lutte contre les incendies et les séquelles de toute autre calamité, de secours aux personnes et biens en péril et de la participation aux études et aux actions préventives intéressant son domaine de compétence. Pour l’exécution de ces missions, les Unités du Corps National des Sapeurs-Pompiers sont placées auprès des autorités administratives sous réquisition permanente. Elles se tiennent également à la disposition des autres départements ministériels et des populations dans le cadre des missions dévolues. Le Corps National des Sapeurs-Pompiers était organisé autour des organes d’études et de planification, du Centre National d’instruction des Sapeurs-Pompiers et des Unités Territoriales des Sapeurs-Pompiers.
  3. Le décret N°2001/184 du 25 juillet 2001 portant réorganisation du Corps National de Sapeurs-Pompiers. Ce texte organise le CNSP autour d’un Etat-major, du Centre National d’Instruction et des Formations et Unités Territoriales. Le Commandant du CNSP (COM CNSP), qui ne peut désormais n’être qu’un Officier nommé par décret du Président, est assisté d’un Commandant en second et d’un Chef d’Etat-major. En outre, il est précisé que le Ministre chargé de la Défense assure le recrutement, la formation, la discipline et l’administration du personnel militaire du Corps National de Sapeurs-Pompiers et que ses ressources financières sont inscrites au budget du Ministère de la Défense, de celui de l’Administration Territoriale et du Ministère de la ville de même qu’il reçoit des contributions des Collectivités Territoriales Décentralisées abritant les Formations du Corps National de Sapeurs-Pompiers.
  4. Le décret N°2004/058 du 23 mars 2004 portant création et organisation des Formations et Unités territoriales du Corps National de Sapeurs-Pompiers précise que les Formations et Unités Territoriales du Corps National de Sapeurs-Pompiers comprennent les Groupements de Sapeurs-Pompiers, les Compagnies d’incendie et les Centres de secours, les Centres Médicaux Spécialisés et le Centre National d’Instruction.
  5. Le décret N°2018/156 du 21 février 2018 modifiant le décret N°2004/058 du 23 mars 2004 portant création et organisation des Formations et Unités Territoriales du Corps National de Sapeurs-Pompiers crée cinq Groupements de Sapeurs-Pompiers dont un par Région Militaire Interarmées ainsi que de nouvelles compagnies d’incendie faisant passer le nombre de trois à vingt.

Organigramme

Missions

Sous réquisition permanente, le Corps National de Sapeurs-Pompiers, agissant auprès des autorités administratives et des Collectivités Territoriales Décentralisées a pour missions :

  • La lutte contre les calamités et leurs séquelles ;
  • Le secours aux personnes et aux biens en péril ;
  • La participation à la gestion des catastrophes ;
  • La participation aux études et aux actions préventives intéressant son domaine de compétence.

Plus spécifiquement, les Unités sont chargées de :

  • La lutte contre les incendies ;
  • La lutte contre les calamités et leurs séquelles ;
  • Le secours aux personnes en péril ;
  • La sauvegarde des biens en péril ;
  • La participation à la gestion des catastrophes ;
  • La participation aux études, aux actions de prévention et de sensibilisation intéressant leurs domaines de compétence.

Elles veillent en outre au respect de la réglementation en matière de :

  • Lotissement ;
  • Construction d’immeubles d’Habitation ;
  • Construction d’Immeubles de Grande Hauteur ;
  • Construction des établissements ouverts au public ;

Réalisation des réseaux d’eau d’incendie dans les casernes et dans les localités de leur implantation et plus généralement, elles participent à l’étude des problèmes de sécurité dans les différents lieux ouverts au public.

A la une

Pendaison, quartier Pitoaré à Maroua.

Mercredi, 26 juin 2024 à 14h30, les secours de la 401e...

Quatre garçons emportés par les eaux du Mayo Tsanaga à Maroua.

Jeudi, 13 juin 2024 aux environs de 13 heures, les secours...

Secours routier, marché de Wouro-Tchédé à Maroua.

Lundi, 27 mai 2024 à 08h50, les secours de la 401e Compagnie...